2002 Oswego Marching Buccaneers

Norman Dello Joio

Scenes from the

Sino-American architect Ieoh Ming Pei's (I. M. Pei) 1985 glass-and-steel pyramid rises from the ancient floor of the Louvre Museum in Paris, France. Pei took over the first major part of the modernization concept for the museum which involved the construction of a huge pyramid in the center of the cour Napoléon. The proposed pyramid was exhibited at the palais de l'Elysée in 1983, where it caused considerable controversy from the outset. But a life-sized simulation was planned and executed in 1985 when the project was given final approval.

The Louvre houses some of the world's most priceless treasures and incomparable art. Originally a medieval fortress, then a palace for the kings of France, and finally a museum, the Louvre bears witness to more than 800 years of history. It was established as a museum in 1793 by the French Republic. The Louvre has always been revered and closely guarded by the French; no cameras were ever allowed inside. In 1962, filmmaker Lucy Jarvis persuaded the French government to allow her to film a television documentary of the famed museum. American composer Norman Dello Joio was selected to compose the musical soundtrack for the program, which won him an Emmy Award for the most outstanding music written for television in the season of 1964-1965. The band version of Scenes from "The Louvre" is a suite taken from the original score of the documentary broadcast in 1964. It continues to be one of the staples of the contemporary wind band repertoire.

The Marching Buccaneers take you on an audio/visual tour of their own, using Dello Joio's award-winning music and the works of master artists from past and present to bring the artistic treasures to life. The haunting opening measures of The Portals begins the tour, through the enormous glass and steel pyramid of architect I.M. Pei. The pyramid's triangular glass panels slowly disappear, leaving the entryway behind.

The tour proceeds with rousing music from the Finale. The second segment incorporates visual design elements of the Dutch artist Piet Mondrian. Mondrian's oil painting "Composition with Red, Blue, Yellow" is captured in the color guard flags for this segment, and his intersecting straight lines are also reflected in the drill design.

The third segment highlights the gorgeous, flowing melody from The Nativity Paintings. In this segment, paintings from the masters are literally brought to life by our trumpet section and guard, including references to DaVinci's "Vitruvian Man", Raphael's "Entombment", and Winslow Homer's "Snap the Whip."

The final drill form of the third segment follows the flowing lines of Georgia O'Keefe's still life "Light Iris," and the beautifully choreographed presentation is completely surrounded with a lovely frame. The fourth segment capture's the innocence of youth, and their whimsical outlook on life. "The Children's Gallery" brings forth the low brass section, percussionists, dancers and the like in a light-hearted romp through our all-too-brief childhood years. Music from "The Kings of France" provides the musical foundation for the fifth segment, a regal opening statement and fugue provides a musical fanfare to present the final piece of art on the tour. The introduction of the final banner, inspired by French artist Henri Matisse ( Lenceur De Couteaux, and Composition Fond Bleu ), brings the Marching Buccaneers' museum tour to a majestic and powerful conclusion.

The 2002 Marching Buccaneers

Drum Major Stephen Syrell
Assistant Drum Major
Sarah Shaver
Marc Evanchik,trumpet; Eva Rivera, piccolo, Billy Tresidder, sousaphone
Small Ensemble Soloists Marc Evanchik, Matthew Buske, tpt.; Krysta Pelc, mellophone;Christopher Wahl, trombone; Ryan Keating, baritone; Todd Heath, sousaphone.

Marching Buccaneers Staff

Music Arrangements Nick Baratta
Drill Design
Dan Campbell
Color Guard Jackie Campbell, Alison Penfield, Sarah Mascari, Angela Conzone, Stephen Brucker Marching & Maneuvering Paul McPherson, Michael Tierney, Brandie Noyes, Alicia Chahowski, David McEneany
Percussion Heather Sweeting, Teddy Mascari, Andrew Heintz, Thomas Norton, Music Michael Dunsmoor, Thomas Proud, Jason Varga, Miles DeCastro, Anne Tiballi, Kristin Zaryski

Assistant Directors Michael Dunsmoor, Heather Sweeting, Paul McPherson

Director William Palange